top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Charles Shorwell 

The Rock Artist's Progress cover website.jpg

Set against the backdrop of the musical revolution that started with the Beatles, the novel begins in 1968, a year after 'The Summer of Love' and follows the story of Daniel Luckham, a young classical pianist studying at the Royal College of Music. Seduced by the rock music scene and vibrant counter culture in London at that time, he contrives to leave college and pursue a career in 'Rock'. But some bad decisions lead him down a dark and dangerous alley, populated by drug dealers, unscrupulous managers and femme fatales. On his journey to fulfil his dreams, Daniel finds his integrity challenged, and the innocence of youth cruelly stripped away. As the ethos of the 'Summer of Love' morphs into the 'Winter of Discontent' and the world's youth become more and more disillusioned with politicians and the establishment, Daniel finds himself caught up in riots in Italy and mistaken for a terrorist in Germany.

Copyright Charles Shorwell 2022

About & Subscribe
bottom of page